My Natural Hair Q & A

These are the top 10 questions that I am frequently asked about my natural hair. 

  1. How do you get your hair so big and curly?                                                                                                   download-1                                                                                                     

This meme is honestly the truth to how I get my hair big and curly because that’s the basic science of my hair and its probably the same for many other natural haired beings, especially since water is our hairs main source of moisture but I obviously use hair products as well as to help me achieve certain styles and to get my curls to pop.                                                                                    

2. How long have you been rocking your natural hair?                                                                      

This year it will be three years that I’ve been proudly rocking my natural hair. 

3. What is your hair type?                                                                                                                             

 My hair texture is type 4 and the reason I don’t specify whether or not its 4a/4b/4c is because my hair has a mixture of all three type 4 hair textures.

Here’s a chart to help you figure out what your hair texture type is.                                                                       natural-hair-type-gude2

4. What products do you use?                                                                                                                           

I have tried a few brands and the one I’ve been using the longest is Aunt Jackies Curls and Coils. I love this brand because its light weight, softens my hair, moisturizers it as well as making my hair smell amazing and to top it off its one of the cheapest brands that you can easily purchase at clicks.img_36821                                                                                                                                                                                   

5. Do you wash/wet your hair everyday?                                                                                     

Absolutely not. I wash my hair for the most twice a week. I will however spritz my hair with   a little bit of water or oil to add moisture and revitalize my curls.

 6. How often do you cut your hair?                                                                                                 

Honestly I hate the idea of cutting or trimming any of my hair so I don’t do it as often as i should but I’m trying to stay committed to at least once or twice a year. I recently went for a cut on the 16 December 2016 and I was so sad and missed my lion mane but I can say the cut helped with my curl definition and my hair is much softer and bouncy.                                                                                              

7. How do you style your hair?                                                                                                                    

Okay so generally like 70% of the time I’ll rock a wash and go as its my favourite way of styling my hair especially when using Aunt Jackies don’t shrink elongating flaxeseed gel as it gives definition but soften my hair unlike other gels. The other 30% of the time I’ll either do two/three strand twist, finger coils and once in a while bantu knots just to have variation in the types of curls and size of my afro.                                                                                                                                                                            

8. What is your favourite hairstyle?                                                                                                             

My favorite hairstyle is definitely my wash and go fro.                                                                                  

9. Do yo ever straighten your hair?                                                                                                                   

I hardly ever straighten my hair and if I do its to check my length and I do it maybe once or twice a year.img_78041

10. Why are you such a strong believer in being/going natural?

The reason I am all for loving your natural hair is because lots of girls and guys are trying to fit in and compete with others based on looks and what is depicted in society as accepted and superior and I want to show them that being different doesn’t have to be a bad thing and that self acceptance is rewarding spiritually, physically and emotionally.        

That’s it for my first “My Natural Hair Q & A. For more information or if you have any other questions you would like to be answered you can comment on this blog post, email me or inbox me on social media.    

#BossieKopp                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    

Leave a Reply

