Protect and Preserve your kinky curls #MyNightTimeRoutine

I usually get asked by newly naturals what I do with my hair at night before I go to bed, because if you have kinky hair and just sleep with your curly bush free you know that it will squash your curls and loose the fro shape, which I can relate to, however that’s not what we want.

Before I get into my night time routine, I would just like to clear the air with those individuals who assume if you have an afro you don’t need to sleep with a pillow(s), well you wrong we do need to just as anyone else does.

So back to my night time routine, which is really simple and should work for most curly hair types.

What I use:

  • loose scrunchy/ invisibobble
  • Aunt Jackies soft all over oil
  • silk/satin scarf 

My Method- The Pineapple

  1. Firstly I take some(not a lot) of the Aunt Jackies soft all over oil and massage it onto my scalp, as well as scrunch it all over my hairimg_53931.jpg
  2. I then tie my hair into a loose high ponytail. It’s important to use a scrunchy or hair tie that won’t damage or create a dent in your hair.img_53941.jpg
  3. I then take my scarf and use it in one of two ways, either where the scarf covers all of my hair or it just covers the hair that would generally be rubbing against the pillow, when in a ponytail. For the first way I take the scarf and join two opposite corners together (It should look like a giant samoosa), I then place it over my hair and tie the scarf in front and make a small knot at the back. img_53961 I would then usually remove the scrunchy/invisibobble from the front (this would be best to do if you don’t have a loose hair tie) and then lastly I tuck the flap in front.img_54031 
  4.    The second way is very similar to the first one, with creating a giant samoosa, followed by folding the scarf samoosa a few times and covering the back of your hair. I then tie it in front and  knotting at the back just as in the first way and you ready for those sweet dreams. img_54551

NB!! Whatever you do make sure that you sleep on a satin or silk pillow case and if not than cover your hair with a satin or silk scarf/bonnet.

Unlike satin/silk materials which protects hair from damage and retains hair moisture, cotton materials that are usually used for pillow cases and so forth drains hair of moisture, as well as cause friction and snag on our hair.

I hope this answers the question of what I do with my hair before bed. Try it out and let me know if it work’s for your hair or not and if not get hold of me on social media or via email I can show you some other methods I know of but don’t usually use but might work for you especially if your hair is short.

Also be on the look out for my next post, where I will explain my morning routine.

Be Bold, Be Brave #BeABossiekopp

               

Leave a Reply

